top of page

Journey that never end for Chung Ling's Collection

Today 15/4/17, the designer of Chung Ling High School Stamp series, Mr Shahrul Izhar visit Penang for the very first time to autograph his stamp design. He was invited by a Chung Ling High School 's Old Boys, which is also one of the owner of CL Blowwater Cafe. The meet up session with Mr Shahrul Izhar was not well announce to the public, even our society get a last minutes confirmation from a random scrolling post on facebook that link to https://allevents.in/โ€ฆ/meet-up-with-mr-shaโ€ฆ/1422080091218427.

We manage to post this event in Facebook on Thursday night. The first meet up session start sharp this morning 10am and end on 12pm, the second session start on 2pm to 4pm. We are expecting the same crowd during the day of issue but today isn't that crowded.

Today everything is all about getting your Penang free School and Chung Ling High School collections autograph by the designer. Most collector who attend the meet up session come with only Penang Free School and Chung Ling High School FDC to Autograph by Mr.Shahrul.

During our chit chat, we asked about his first design for Pos Malaysia and surprise surprise, the panda series design was his first printed design on stamps. Two years ago didn't manage to cancel my FDC. Today, got my cover autographed by Mr Shahrul. The panda series was his first design for pos Malaysia. The design company was Hazel design but he personally confirm that it was his design.I'm the first to have his autograph he said.

Panda series cover canceled with my own way.

Panda series 2015 uncut miniature sheet

Chung Ling centenary stamps issued on the 9th of February 2017, I remember well because it took me the whole week to travel all around Malaysia to get more of this issue ( due to limit 5 sets per person in Penang). Luckily the issue date are different all around Malaysia (refer to the 2017 tentative stamp issues schdule), I get few sets of stamps, miniature sheet and cover from each post office i visit, non of them fullfill my demand till I get the last batch of stamp during Johor issue date. That week was tough week for me, need to canceled my FDC and calculation on my budget. Met a lot of amazing collectors and seen a lot of creative cover make my trip worth it.

I canceled my postcard with every pos mark when I travel to the particular post office in Malaysia. Today should be the last stop for my Chung Ling centenary stamps collection, finally get the autograph and I canceled the cafe cachet. Life is great with a hobby, I'm not a stamp dealer, I'm a collector who enjoy the collecting process and meet people with the same passion.

The Three Musketeers of Penang Philatelic Society

On behalf of Penang Philatelic Society's members, we would like to thank you Mr. Shahrul for his time here in Penang to autograph and sharing session. Most important, special thanks to CL Blowwater Cafe staff and owner to organise and run this meet up session in their cafe, if there are philatelic activity in future organise by you all, we will help out too. Oh ya , I left a stamp pad for the cafe for cachet.

Related Posts

See All

Related Post

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Blogger Social Icon
bottom of page